Media library
The Media Library allows you to upload and share content with other users. Access to different sections and features may vary depending on your user profile.
For example, some users may be able to upload new media, while others may only have access to select from existing content.
You can view the media library in grid view to see thumbnails of
each item, or in a list view with more details.

Folder types
There are several different folders in a default installation.
-
Users
- The Users folder contains the personal folder of each user. Users with Site Access see the folders of all users here, while other users only see their own folder.
-
Site root folder
- This is the default folder of your site. It has the same name as your site. Shared media items and sub-folders are placed here.
-
Site library
- Folders that Smartsign manages, such as System storage, and the media used by the default template theme and screen layouts. You can't create folders directly in Site library or System storage.
-
Other folders
- In addition to the folders listed above you may also have folders with templates, sample content and other custom folders. Some of these folders may be synchronized from a shared source either within Smartsign, from an external file system.
Upload content
Click Add media in the top menu to add media items.
Choose Upload to upload files from your computer, Use template
to create content based on Smartsign templates, or More to see
all sources.

Under More, the sources are grouped into Basic, Content platforms, such as OneDrive and Google Drive, and Other, such as Video stream, Webpage and HTML-widget. Which sources you see depends on your user profile. Turn on Show in media library menu to add the selected source directly to the Add media menu.
If you only have Read access to a folder, you can't add media to it.
It's also possible to drag and drop files to the media library. You can upload to the current folder or a subfolder by dropping the content on the folder that you want to upload to.
Create new folder
To create a new folder, you should first place yourself in the folder where you want to create it. Then you click New folder. A prompt will appear where you can enter the desired name of the folder.
The new folder gets the same access as the folder it is created in. To change it, see Folder permissions.
You need Modify access to a folder to create folders in it. You can't create folders directly in Users, Site library or System storage.
Folder permissions
Users with Site Access will always see all folders in the Media library. Other users only see a folder when they, or one of their groups, have been given access to it.
To modify permissions, follow steps below. You need Modify access to the folder. With the default Publisher profile you can't open folder details.
- Select the folder that you want to modify.
- Click the options button and select Details.
- Go to Users & Groups tab.
- Add users or groups to any of the following permissions.
- Read - Can view and use the items in the folder, for example in bookings, but not change them.
- Write - Can add, edit and delete items in the folder.
- Modify - Full access. Can also create subfolders and change the settings and access of the folder.

Normally, permissions will be inherited downwards in the folder structure, but you have the option of stopping this so that you can have a different set of permissions lower in the structure.
To do this, just enable the setting "Stop inheritance of groups and permission" on the folder. After that you can set different permissions on the folder which will only apply to that folder and the ones below it. Change on any higher-level folder will no longer apply to this folder or the ones below it.
Media validity
It's possible to limit the validity of media to a specific period.
- Select options button on an item and go to Details.
- Go to Validity tab.
- Set the date and time you want for the media.
- You can combine settings or use individually as per your needs.
- Save to confirm changes.

The time referred to is the local time of each screen. The media can still be added to bookings and will also remain in any previous bookings, but it will be automatically excluded from the actual playlists that are sent to screen if it's not valid.
Media that is currently invalid will appear grayed out in the media library as well as in any playlist using it.
Manage media items
To find media, use the search field. It searches inside the folder you are in. On a search result, select Go to folder in the item menu to open the folder that contains it.
Select the options button on an item to open its menu. Depending on the type of item, you can Add to Booking, Edit media, open Details, Move to another folder, Download, Duplicate, Rename, Replace or Delete it. Synchronized items also have Synchronize. To do the same with several items at once, select them and use Move to, Download or Delete.
Your access to the folder decides which of these actions you can use.
Replacing files in the media library
You can replace media in the media library to quickly change a booked media item instantly without the need of opening a booking to remove and add new content.
- Start by locating the media in the media library.
- Select the option button and click Replace in the menu. You will be presented with a dialog where you can choose a file to replace the media item. Confirm with Replace.
- The media item will be replaced and all bookings using it will use the new version automatically.

Replace is not available for webpages, video streams, templates or smart media, for items synchronized from OneDrive or Google Drive, or in folders where you only have Read access. You also can't replace the backgrounds, logos and fonts of a theme, or a file that is not an image or video if other media uses it.
It's also possible to replace a file by uploading a file with the same name as an existing item in the same folder. You will then be automatically prompted if you wish to replace it.